Enjoying THIS Season

The seasons of gardening are enjoyable.  First the planning and dreaming before the ground has thawed.  Then the first dirt on my hands when I  start my seeds indoors, and week after week of watering and watching the miracle of sprouting take place.  Soon preparing the beds and planting the cool weather crops take center stage, and slowly the masses of seedlings near the east and south facing windows begin to find their way outside.  For a while, watering and mulching and hopefully only a little weeding keep time in the garden to a minimum.

Then I discover the first fruit on the vine.  The lettuce is bright with the green of spring.  The broccoli forms baby heads, and the carrots grow unseen beneath the soil.  It seems as though the harvest will trickle in.

The first days of preserving the harvest finally come, canning carrots and then freezing broccoli.  After a while the tomatoes finally arrive on the scene!  At first I try to eat them all, each red fruit a treasure to be savored.  Then I realize I could never eat them all before they rot, and I am canning tomatoes, canning peaches, canning pickles.  The counter tops are covered with zucchini, the freezer is full of frozen cantaloupe, and the fridge always boasts sweet watermelon ready for feasting.

This week I began planning for next year’s garden.  I saved some seeds!  Next year we shall hope to have cantaloupe, watermelon, and brandywine tomatoes as wonderful as we have this year, for their seeds will lie in wait all winter long for the warm earth to bring life from a dormant seed to bear the delicious and life-giving fruit again next year.  I can hardly wait to start all over again.

Life truly does come in seasons.  Amazingly, the transition from one season to the next comes gradually and we often do not know when a season has ended, nor when another has begun.  Like the harvest, it seems it will be a long time coming, but then it is suddenly upon us, and we wonder where the time went.  Today I stood in my garden and soaked in THIS season.  My daughter stood atop a woodchip pile and sang spontaneous worship songs that must have commanded the attention of all heaven.  I know Jesus was listening and beaming.  The water fell on my garden plants and on my soul as I realized how blessed I was today.  How blessed this season is.  And I want to enjoy it deeply, as many moments as I can, never knowing when another season may make this season only a memory.  Surely each season has many things to be thankful for, and today, let us give thanks for the bounty in our kitchens, and the bounty in our lives.

~Lacy

Leave a Reply

